Right to be Forgotten

Talkdesk Omnichannel provides you, as a Client Admin, with control over your account’s data usage. You can easily configure data security and encryption options, making Talkdesk Omnichannel compliant with the EU’s right to erasure.
The choice to enable automatic identification and encryption of personal and private information means all customers on Talkdesk Omnichannel are anonymous to Agents, Analysts, Team Managers and Administrators within the database.
Talkdesk Omnichannel also gives the customer “the right to be forgotten”, completely removing them from the system.

How does the “Right to Be Forgotten” Work?

Talkdesk Omnichannel keeps a database of all customer profiles and conversations to help agents quickly identify the customer and subsequently resolve their issue. The customers can request at any time to have their profile and information forgotten, which means completely removing them from the system. In the case of a merged profile, irrespective of the channel on which the request came from, the customer’s entire profile data will be processed.
Upon receiving this request, Talkdesk Omnichannel removes all customer information and chat history:

  • Name
  • Mobile Number
  • Email ID
  • Twitter ID
  • Twitter Handle
  • Gender
  • Locale
  • Facebook Profile Picture

Once a customer has been removed from the system, all historic conversations are replaced with the text “Customer’s request for right to be forgotten has been processed successfully”. All remaining non-personal chat information, chat ID and metrics will remain as they are important to create reliable reports.
Any active chats on the customer’s profile will be closed with a message to the agent that the customer has invoked the right to be forgotten.

Setting up a Customer’s Right to Be Forgotten

You can configure a specific keyword that customers can use to request the deletion of their profile and chat information from the system. The customer needs to use the exact message, including capitalization, to avoid accidental use.

To configure the Right to be Forgotten:

  1. Click on the Settings [1] icon.
  2. Select Right to be Forgotten Settings [2].
  3. Make sure that the “On/Off Forget Customer Settings” toggle is switched on [3] to allow your customers to invoke the right to be forgotten.
  4. Set the keyword that the customers should use when they invoke their right to be forgotten [4].
  1. Select the action to be taken after a customer requests to be forgotten [5]:
  • Auto Bounce Back: This option is more effective when you want your customers to initiate the request to be forgotten through one of your configured channels.

  • API: You can call an API/Webhook URL in order to handle the customer interaction outside of Talkdesk Omnichannel, before returning the final action of deletion to Talkdesk Omnichannel if so desired.
    The request body of this API call follows a predefined format. You need to enter the API/Webhook for that external flow, where you will be notified of a customer’s request, in the API text field.

  1. (Optional) Tick the Take confirmation from customer box [6] if you want the customer to confirm their decision before triggering the deletion.

6.1 Enter a confirmation keyword [7].

6.2 Compose messages for the following scenarios:

  • Customer replies with confirmation keyword [8].
  • Customer replies with anything other than confirmation keywords [9].
  • Customer does not confirm within 24 hours [10].
  1. Click on SAVE CHANGES [11].

📘

Note

After the customer has requested to be forgotten, any messages they send after the request will not be shown to agents.